The answer up front. A fused jacket has its front panels glued to an interlining. A half-canvas jacket has a floating layer of canvas through the chest and lapel, and glue below that. A full-canvas jacket has that floating layer running all the way to the hem. And the famous "pinch test" every menswear article tells you to perform in the shop cannot tell fused apart from half-canvas -- because a half-canvas jacket is fused below the second button anyway.3 So the only thing that reliably separates them is whether the brand states it in writing. That is what I went and checked, brand by brand.
I am Jay. I spent about ten years in the US buying suits off racks and never once knowing what was inside them. I came to Hoi An as a customer of Nathan Tailors about a year ago and ended up a partner; Linda, born and raised here, has been at the cutting table for twenty-five years and runs the craft side. This is a numbers-and-questions article: sixteen brands, what each publishes about construction, at what price, with the page it says it on.
What the three constructions actually are
Fused. An interlining is glued to the back of the shell fabric with heat and adhesive -- fast, cheap and consistent. Hockerty, which sells the alternative, puts it plainly: "A fused canvas suit simply has an interlining glued to the fabric of the suit instead of sewn canvas."37
Half canvas. A layer of canvas is stitched in rather than glued, covering "the top half of your jacket, from shoulders down the chest to the jacket's mid-point," with the rest fused down to the hem2 -- or, as Gentleman's Gazette puts it, "more like a 2/3 canvas with one third of a glued interlining."4
Full canvas. The canvas runs the whole length -- "from the shoulder down to the bottom of the jacket and throughout the lapel. It provides the best drape and the most structure," in Proper Cloth's words,31 or "a full-body construction, with sharp edges and a firm structure" in Suitsupply's.15
Why it matters: a floating canvas is not glued to the cloth, so the jacket moulds to your chest over years instead of holding one fixed shape. Jos. A. Bank's pitch for half canvas is that it "molds to your body and develops a perfect fit";6 Spier & Mackay's for full canvas is "superior drape, durability, and longevity."43
The against-interest part: the pinch test does not work
I sell canvassed suits. It would suit me to tell you there is a simple in-store test that exposes fused jackets. There is not.
The standard instruction: pinch the sleeve first to learn the cloth's thickness, since sleeves are never canvassed;1 then pinch beneath the lowest buttonhole and pull the layers apart. Three layers means canvassed, two means fused.2
Put This On stated the problem most clearly, and almost nobody repeats it. On a half-canvassed jacket, "below the second button is always fused"3 -- so a low pinch there feels exactly like a fused jacket. Moving up does not save you: "All garments -- fully-canvassed, half-canvassed, or fused -- will have a floating chest piece, so feeling a distinct layer there means nothing."3 Their conclusion: "there's little way to tell if a garment is fused or half-canvassed" without expert help, and salespeople who can make the call are "very, very hard to find."3
A low pinch that finds a third floating layer proves full canvas. A low pinch that finds nothing means fused or half-canvas, and cannot separate them.
The backup tells are weaker than their reputation. Lapel roll and a limp hand-feel are cited as quality hallmarks4 but are subjective, and modern adhesives have closed the gap: "fusing has gotten a lot better nowadays and is not always as stiff as it's been in prior years."1 Functional sleeve buttons are not a construction indicator at all -- "simply having them is no longer a surefire sign of quality," and they now run from Savile Row down to budget high-street jackets.5 Cuffs are a finishing choice; canvas is an interlining choice. J.Crew's Ludlow jackets are half-canvas and list "nonfunctional buttons at cuffs" on the product page.40
So: which brands actually say?
All prices below are what those brands' own US pages showed on 7 September 2026, and several are promotional. Every "does not publish" row means I checked the brand's suit pages and found no construction wording -- a finding about disclosure, not a claim that the suits are fused.
| Brand | Publishes construction? | Highest brand-stated construction | Where the brand says it | Entry price seen 7 Sep 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jos. A. Bank | Partly | Half canvas -- Reserve only6 | Category page | 1905 $249.99 / Reserve $499.99 / Reserve Custom from $84978 |
| Men's Wearhouse | Partly | Half canvas -- Joseph Abboud only9 | Blog page | Pronto Uomo Platinum jacket $259.99 / Joseph Abboud suit $649.991110 |
| Indochino | Partly | Half canvas offered as a selectable option; default not stated12 | Help Center | Studio $499 / Premium $799 / Luxury $9991314 |
| Suitsupply | Yes, but unmapped | Describes half and full canvas; no line mapping, no no-fusing guarantee15 | Journal page | Ready-to-wear $549-$1,19918 |
| Brooks Brothers | Yes, on product pages | Full canvas (Golden Fleece); half canvas (1818)1920 | Product detail pages | 1818 $1,498 / Golden Fleece $1,698 list, seen at $499.991920 |
| Canali | Only for one line | Full canvas -- KEI only23 | Editorial site (Anthology) | US ready-to-wear $2,695-$3,59524 |
| Hugo Boss | Only for one edition | Full canvas -- limited 1,500-per-season edition only25 | Dedicated landing page | Business suits $599-$2,19926 |
| Charles Tyrwhitt | Yes, on a product page | Half canvas (Italian Luxury, Reda Super 130s)28 | Product page + editorial | $449.25 promo entry / Italian Luxury $674.25+30 |
| Proper Cloth | Yes, fully | Full canvas, half canvas or none -- customer's choice31 | Reference page | Unstructured $645 / half $695 / full $84532 |
| Banana Republic | No | None -- never uses the word canvas33 | -- | Signature jacket $400-$45033 |
| State & Liberty | Ambiguous | "Internal canvassing" -- no grade given35 | Product page | Blazer $480 + pants $15036 |
| Hockerty | Yes | Half or full canvas selectable on Premium37 | Premium Suit page | Suits from $399 / Premium from $3493837 |
| J.Crew (Ludlow) | Yes, but off the product page | Half canvas, "four interior layers of canvas and haircloth"39 | Editorial shop page | Un-suit from $266 / Essential from $42839 |
| Bonobos | Blazers only | Half canvas on the Marzotto flannel blazer; suits not stated4142 | Product detail page | Suit jacket $425-$50042 |
| Spier & Mackay | Yes, per tier | Half canvas standard, full canvas upgrade4345 | FAQ, product titles, collections | Red Label $298 USD / $378 CAD44 |
| Ted Baker | No | None47 | -- | Jacket about $289-$39947 |
The five findings that actually change a purchase
1. Construction is almost never on the page where the money changes hands. Where a brand discloses it at all, it is usually on a blog, a help-centre article or an editorial page a buyer never reaches. Men's Wearhouse states half canvas for Joseph Abboud on a blog post;9 its Pronto Uomo Platinum jacket page lists only "2-Button, Full Lined, Side-Vented, Notch Lapel, Flap Pocket, Modern Fit."11 J.Crew's half-canvas language sits on the Ludlow Shop editorial page,39 not on the Ludlow product pages.
2. A selectable option tells you what the default is not. Indochino lists "Half Canvas" as a customization -- "canvassing in the upper half of the jacket, as well as in the jacket's lapel" -- plus an Unconstructed option canvassed only in the shoulders.12 If half canvas is something you choose, the standard jacket is something else, and Indochino never publishes what. A long-running independent reviewer's August 2026 audit refused to state it either way: "Indochino product pages do not consistently give enough canvas detail to justify broad claims."14
3. Suitsupply markets canvas heavily but publishes no guarantee. It has a whole page describing full and half canvas.15 What it does not have is a sentence saying no Suitsupply jacket is fused, or any mapping of construction to Napoli, Havana, Milano, Roma or Perennial -- the $549 Perennial product page names fabric and mill and says nothing about canvas.16 Even Custom Made is a choice between the two, not automatic full canvas.17 The repeated "Suitsupply never fuses" line is a reviewer's, not the brand's.
4. The clearest disclosure comes from the smallest names. Spier & Mackay writes it into its FAQ -- "Half-Canvas (standard)" and "Full-Canvas (upgrade)"43 -- into its product titles and its collection pages,45 and states it per tier, with the Emerald Label "offered in half- and full-canvas construction."46 Proper Cloth prices the decision openly: unstructured $645, half canvas $695, full canvas $84532 -- the only public number I found anywhere for what full canvas actually costs. Canali, at $2,695 and up, publishes construction for exactly one line: KEI, "a full canvas jacket with a full canvas inside," and only on its editorial site.2324
5. Price does not predict disclosure. BOSS publishes full canvas for a limited edition of 1,500 pieces per season made in Germany,25 and nothing for the $599-$2,199 business suits nearly every BOSS customer actually buys.26 Brooks Brothers states half canvas for 1818 and full canvas for Golden Fleece on the product pages themselves.1920 Same bracket, opposite behaviour.
Charles Tyrwhitt is the halfway house: one Italian Luxury product page commits -- "Woven for us by Reda in Italy, the single-breasted jacket features a half-canvas structure"28 -- while its sitewide editorial hedges, "Many of our suits employ a canvas or half-canvas construction," naming no tier.29 Ted Baker is the far end: 143 suit products giving only "Wool", "Linen" or "Cotton Blend",47 and a US and Canada tailoring licensee, Peerless, appointed by Authentic Brands Group in August 2024, that publishes no construction spec either.48
Two contradictions I could not resolve
I am publishing these unresolved rather than picking whichever version is convenient.
What this means when you are standing in a shop
- A low pinch that finds a genuine third floating layer proves full canvas. That is the one thing the test establishes.2
- A low pinch that finds nothing proves nothing -- fused or half-canvas, with no in-store way to separate them.3
- Ask in writing, per fabric and per tier. If a brand will not put construction next to the price, treat it as unknown rather than assuming the worse or the better answer.
And keep the fabric question separate from the construction question. Jos. A. Bank's $249.99 1905 suits list compositions like "63% polyester, 35% viscose, 2% elastane," with "Fully lined for structure and a smooth drape" as the only structure language.7 Men's Wearhouse's $259.99 Pronto Uomo Platinum jacket is "51% wool, 47% polyester, 2% spandex."11 Those are fabric facts. They do not tell you what is glued behind the cloth, and I will not convert one into the other.
The custom alternative, honestly
You know where I work, so let me be plain. Nathan Tailors builds true half canvas as standard, and a two-piece suit runs $149 to $309 for the garment, with shipping quoted separately by weight and destination rather than folded into the price. Full canvas is available on request at a higher price. Every suit ships with seam allowances and spare cloth so a local tailor can adjust it later at your cost, and you can measure yourself at home with our guided measurement studio or the written measurement guide.
Where the brands above beat us: Brooks Brothers, Spier & Mackay and Proper Cloth publish construction as clearly as we do, and Proper Cloth publishes the price of the upgrade. Brooks Brothers and Suitsupply also have shops you can walk into and leave with a jacket the same week. If that matters more than the money, go there.
What we have instead is the thing the pinch test cannot give you: a shop where you watch the canvas go in. Our tailors work international clients every day rather than a few orders a week, which is the whole reason a $149 suit here is not a $149 suit anywhere else. Come in and Linda will look at you over the tape measure and ask "Why are you so handsome?!" before taking a single measurement. To start online, the custom tailored suits page walks through it.
Frequently asked questions
Can you tell if a suit is fused just by touching it?
Only partly. A pinch below the lowest buttonhole that finds a third, floating layer proves full canvas.2 A pinch that finds nothing cannot distinguish fused from half-canvas, since half-canvas jackets are fused below the second button anyway.3
Is half canvas good enough, or should I hold out for full canvas?
Half canvas puts the floating layer where shape matters most -- the chest and lapel.31 Spier & Mackay sells it as the standard and full canvas as an upgrade for "superior drape, durability, and longevity."43 Proper Cloth prices that difference at about $150.32
Are Indochino suits half canvas?
Indochino offers half canvas as a selectable customization and does not publish what the default is.12 A long-running independent reviewer's August 2026 audit declined to state it either way and told buyers to ask per fabric and tier.14 Anyone answering with confidence is guessing.
Does Suitsupply ever fuse its jackets?
Suitsupply describes both half and full canvas on its own construction page but publishes no statement that it never fuses, and does not map either construction to a named line.15 Its ready-to-wear product pages, including the $549 Perennial, carry no construction line at all.16
If a brand does not publish construction, is the suit fused?
Not necessarily. "Does not publish" means the buyer cannot find out. Banana Republic publishes no canvas wording anywhere, and a July 2026 Dappered review noted the brand is "pretty coy about whether they're half-canvas or not" while reporting the jackets drape well and do not feel stiff.34 That is a reviewer's impression, not a construction fact.
The bottom line
Construction is the one thing about a suit you are asked to pay for and cannot check. The test everybody recommends works in only one direction, the hand-feel tells have been blurred by better adhesives, and functional cuffs mean nothing. What is left is disclosure -- and across sixteen brands, four put it where you can see it, ten bury it or fence it off to a single line, and two say nothing. Ask before you pay, whoever you buy from. If the answer is a shrug, that is an answer too.


